Vicars

The Archdiocese of Detroit contains 16 vicariates, each a geographic subdivision of the archdiocese. At the head of each vicariate is a vicar who shares pastoral leadership for the parishes in that area with the archbishop.

Vicariates and Vicars/Moderators Contact Information

Blue Water Vicariate
Rev. Joseph Esper
(586) 725-3051
parish@icccatholic.org
www.bluewatervicariate.org
Central Macomb Vicariate 
Reverend Douglas Bignall
(586) 463-5877 revdougbignall@comcast.net
www.cmvic.net
Downriver Vicariate
Rev. Suresh Rajaian, SAC
(734) 285-1100
sureshsac7@gmail.com

Genesis Vicariate
Rev. Alex Kratz, O.F.M.
(313) 727-9784 
abunaalex@yahoo.com
www.genesisvicariate.org
Lakes Vicariate
Monsignor John Budde
(248) 685-1482
 jgbudde@aol.com
lakesvicariate.weebly.com
Monroe Vicariate
Rev. Michael Woroniewicz
(734) 654-2500 
mworoniewicz@sscms.edu
www.monroevicariate.com
North Macomb Vicariate
Reverend Roman Pasieczny
(586) 731-5347 
pasieczny@stlawrenceparish.com
Northwest Wayne Vicariate
Reverend Paul Ballien
(734) 455-5910
pballien@yahoo.com
www.nwwv.org
Pontiac Area Vicariate
Rev. James Kean
(248) 332-0283 
FKean@st-damien.org
www.pontiacareavicariate.org
Renaissance Vicariate
Rev. Mario Amore
(313) 237-5810
amore.mario@aod.org

SERF Vicariate
Rev. James Commyn
(586) 771-8300
serfvicar@stlucychurch.com

South Oakland Vicariate
Reverend Paul Snyder
(248) 547-1818
psnyder@st-mary.org
www.southoaklandvicariate.org
Southwest Vicariate
Rev. Marc Gawronski
(313) 841-0753
 fathermarc@me.com
www.swvicariate.net
Thumb Vicariate
Rev. Richard Treml
(810) 688-3797
 richietrem@aol.com

Trinity Vicariate
Rev. John Phelps, C.Ss.P.
(313) 342-5292 
phelps@lifedirections.org
http://trinityvicariatedetroit.org
West Wayne Vicariate
Reverend Walter Ptak
(313) 562-5356
pastor@stsebastiancatholicchurch.org



Regions and Regional Moderators

Central Region
The Most Rev. Donald F. Hanchon

Northeast Region
The Most Rev. Robert Fisher

Northwest Region
The Most Rev. Arturo Cepeda
Rev. Msgr. John Zenz
South Region
The Most Rev. Gerard Battersby

Central Serives Contact

Mr. Michael Trueman
Chancellor
(313) 237-5847