Archdiocesan Finance Council

The Archdiocesan Finance Council is a consultative body in place to advise the archbishop on many financial and administrative matters affecting the Archdiocese of Detroit.

The nine-member council is made up of experts in finance, administration and law who help oversee the archdiocese’s annual budget.

On certain decisions, canon law requires the archbishop to seek consultation and sometimes consent from the Archdiocesan Finance Council before acting. Members of the council hold their seats for five-year terms.

Archdiocesan Finance Council

Archbishop Allen Vigneron, President  

James E. Bayson, Chairperson
(2019, 2nd term)  

Kay Benesh
(2023, 2nd term)

Nettie Seabrooks
(2019, 2nd term)  

Mark VanFaussien
(2021, 1st term)  

Terence Hamilton
(2021, 2nd term)  

Monsignor Thomas Johnson
(2020, 2nd term)  

Lawrence D. McLaughlin
(2023, 1st term)  

Timothy M. Monahan
(2020, 1st term)

Central Services Contacts           

Father Jeffrey Day, Moderator of the Curia  

Michael Trueman, Chancellor