Leadership Formation

Our mission as followers of Christ is to share Christ in and through the Church. This is the responsibility of all the baptized.  Some, however, respond to the call to a more regular service in the Church.  This could range anywhere from catechist to a full time Lay Ecclesial Minister.  Regardless of the length of time one may want to serve, it is imperative that each person in ministry receive the proper education and formation.  Below is a list of the programs of formation for the various areas of ministry in the Archdiocese of Detroit.  

  • Forms »

    Forms that you may need in regards to your initial certification or renewal of certification. For the certification application and self-assessment instrument, there are both online forms as well as PDF’s available.

  • Advanced Catechist Certification »

    Advanced catechist certification in the Archdiocese of Detroit is a two-part process that can be completed at three different levels—initial, intermediate or advanced. It is intended for catechists in parish programs such as adult faith formation, youth ministry and K-8 or for those in Catholic grade schools.

  • HS Theology Teacher Certification »

    The Archdiocese of Detroit's policy for religion teachers in a Catholic high school requires that the teacher be certified through the Office for Faith Formation/Catechetics or in the process of obtaining certification.

  • Lay Ecclesial Minister Certification »

    The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops Subcommittee on Certification for Ecclesial Ministry and Service (formerly the USCCB Commission on Certification and Accreditation) has approved the certification standards and procedures of the Archdiocese of Detroit, Office of Ministerial Certification for Coordinators of Youth Ministry, Christian Service Coordinators, Directors of Religious Formation/Parish Catechetical Leaders, RCIA Coordinators, and Liturgical Musicians through 2016.

  • RCIA Catechist Certification »

    RCIA Catechist Certification is designed for all who have any catechetical role in the RCIA process. It consists of being certified as an Advanced Catechist as well as the completion of nine RCIA Topics.

  • Renewal of Certification »

    After certification has been granted for a period of five years, the candidate must apply for renewal of certification. Within the five year period, it is required to participate in fifty hours of ongoing formation. A log of this is to be kept and turned in.

  • Institute for Ministry »

    Ministry formation and enrichment programs are available at Sacred Heart Major Seminary Institute for Ministry. For more information on degree and diploma programs, enrichment courses and admission information, contact the Institute for Ministry.

Reference this information directly at