Process for Reporting
1. Report to the CPS Centralized Intake for Abuse & Neglect
- Mandated reporters in Michigan must make an immediate verbal report to the CPS Centralized Intake for Abuse & Neglect at
1-855-444-3911 followed by a written report within 72 hours.
- NOTE: Individual working or volunteering in a capacity similar to those listed professions (but not included in this list), please follow agency procedures or internal policies to ensure your concerns regarding suspected abuse and/or neglect are reported.
- See the Mandated Reporter's Resource Guide for more information
- Download the DHS-3200 Report of Suspected or Actual Child Abuse or Neglect Form
2. Report to the Archdiocese of Detroit
- To report an allegation of sexual abuse of a minor by a cleric (bishop, priest or deacon), employee,
or volunteer of the Archdiocese of Detroit, please contact our toll-free 24-hour hotline: 1-866-343-8055
- Our Victim Assistance Coordinator will help victims of sexual abuse and their families with healing and reconciliation.
- To report by mail, mark envelope as "Confidential":
Msgr. G. Bugarin
Archdiocesan Policy Delegate
Archdiocese of Detroit
12 State St.
Detroit, MI 48226-1823
When to report?
The following may be indicators that someone is being abused or neglected:
Children: Sudden changes in behavior or school performance; medical conditions go untreated; lacks adult supervision; overly compliant, passive, or withdrawn behavior; does not want to go home; dehydration or malnutrition.
Adults: Sudden changes in physical behavioral or financial status of elderly or someone with a developmental disability; left in front of a TV all day; dehydration or malnutrition.
One call. One number. One person can make a difference. If you suspect abuse or neglect, call 855-444-3911 now.
If you work with children, review our Mandated Reporters information online for an overview of your legal obligation to report abuse and neglect.
Who should report abuse?
Everyone has the abiltity to report abuse and should if they are aware of any abuse occuring.
The Michigan Child Protection Law, 1975 PA 238, MCL 722.621 et. seq., requires the reporting of child abuse and neglect by certain persons (called mandated reporters) and permits the reporting of child abuse and neglect by all persons. The Child Protection Law includes the legal requirements for reporting, investigating, and responding to child abuse and neglect
Mandated reporters are an essential part of the child protection system because they have an enhanced capacity, through their expertise and direct contact with children, to identify suspected child abuse and neglect. The list of mandated reporters is as follows:
- Physician’s Assistant
- Registered dental hygienist
- Law enforcement officer
- Medical examiner
- Member of the clergy
- School administrator
- School counselor or teacher
- Regulated child care provider
- Social worker
- Licensed professional counselor
- Marriage and family therapist
- Regulated child care provider
- Licensed master’s social worker
- Licensed bachelor’s social worker
- Registered social service technician
- Social service technician
- Any person licensed to provide emergency medical care
- A person employed in a professional capacity in any office of the friend of the court
- Any employee of an organization or entity that, as a result of federal funding statutes, regulations, or contracts would be prohibited from reporting in the absence of a state mandate or court order (e.g., domestic violence providers).